Emerald Gryphon

Ramblings from an ex-squid on politics, religion, current events, and whatever else catches my attention.

Back to the blog…

Posted by emeraldgryphon on Tuesday, 19 May 2009


I know, I’ve been away a while. A long while. Quite a few changes around here since my last post: got a new job, had a new baby, now getting ready to move.  My wife and I got our carry permits  last fall and I have become an open-carry devotee and rabid 2A supporter / activist. I’ve (finally) joined the NRA, and am joining the TFA (Tennessee Firearms Association) as soon as we can scrape the $ together.  A lot of my political commentary is going to focus now on 2A and 10A issues.

So, the family and I are looking to move to a larger parcel of land out in the sticks, and grow and raise our own food. Of course we have to sell the house in town, but our area wasn’t hit too terribly hard by the downturn and interest rates are still really low. We have a 3 year plan to go from town living to being able to eat in event of a TEOTWAWKI scenario, and in the meantime we will be replacing the groceries with home grown / raised / hunted foodstuffs which are a little better for you anyway. I know it sounds a little paraniod, and maybe it is, but really, where is the downside? If we are wrong, we are still growing and eating our own food (minimal chemicals and no fillers), and teaching the kids how to both use the resources and conserve so that the land will keep producing. We will also be picking up skills and hopefully selling enough excess production at the farmers market that we will be breaking even once you count the grocery bill savings. Any of you that have done something like this, if you have any pointers, I’m all ears.

regards,

Pol

Leave a Reply

 
